Wow macs are confusing you guys

October 19, 2012 § 2 Comments

Alright so last week I went to my university’s macintosh computer lab to see how things worked on “the dark side”, and it was a lot more difficult than I thought it would be :S

For one it probably didn’t help that the computers in the lab only had Java 1.5 (of which I’d need at LEAST 1.6 to work properly) and I didn’t have admin access (ofc), but even the format of the game itself is wacky. For one it’s like, a disk image that you have to virtually mount(???) and I’m like what’s all that about

then I tried to copy the .app from its pretty little mounting to the desktop and it’s all “Oh this application doesn’t work now”. Is it possible to run the game from an arbitrary location? I don’t know. And can I modify the files in the .app from a java application? mysteries. I had a hard enough time figuring out how to right-click.

so I copied the files to a USB for analysis when I got back to the comfort of my windows machines.

§ 2 Responses to Wow macs are confusing you guys

  • Heh. I’m going through the same thing. I had to have someone give me the “Mac 101” crash course at school. It’s not too bad, but man o man do those things make things difficult. Functionality is definately exchanged for user friendliness.

  • Carrotlord says:

    Macs are Unixes except with different hardware.

    Now, I used a Mac once. Downloaded a copy of the Mac OS and mounted it on a different partition on my laptop. Problem was, I had no idea how to open the GUI during the OS’s first run. So I was left with a crappy UNIX command line that couldn’t do much.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wow macs are confusing you guys at King's Story.

meta