Mod support..???

June 6, 2012 § 4 Comments

Yeah, so this week I guess I actually worked more on CSengine than the editor for a change, how shocking!
this was mostly at the bequest of someone else who is now using the codebase and needed help understanding my esoteric and poorly documented code (who could it be? it is a mystery.)

How it works is you select a data folder with jConfig (this program has been with CSengine since the ¬†beginning) which basically amounts to choosing your game/mod, since most everything is in the data folder. I don’t have the sound data (either sound effects or music) really externalized well like that but theoretically it wouldn’t be too hard to do so. Anyway whether this ever finds use or not is another question…

but at least it wasn’t hard.

 

§ 4 Responses to Mod support..???

  • You know what’d be great? If you offered a resolution change button for it? Someone using your engine could use 16×16 or 32×32 tiles and characters.

    Or it’s an attribute on the engine. I’m not really concerned.

  • trickybilly says:

    Nice, nice. I’d like to see sometimes a post more directly related to King’s Story, like weapon or level design, some progress. Or do you need to work on the engine first and only then progress with the story?
    Anyway, best of luck :)

    • Noxid says:

      The story is mostly ‘figured out’ in a general sense and the fine details I sort of make up as I go. The level design I can’t really do until I have a working level editor and engine

      so I’m afraid I’m stuck working on this stuff :B

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mod support..??? at King's Story.

meta

