The Rise and Fall of UI Design

March 6, 2012 § 5 Comments

Work on the CS Editor this week has led me to the conclusion that I will not, sadly, be able to support my grand vision of a single-window UI design with everything “in one place” so to speak. I already had to cheat a little bit before by allowing the tileset editor window to “pop out” because some people liked it better that way, and now I’ve come to the conclusion that there’s simply no way I can put the TSC editor in the same frame as the Map Editor. It’s crucial that one be able to see both at the same time for writing map-based scripts, so I have it in a separate dialog now. Something good that does come out of this, is that I bothered to figure out how to set up child windows properly so I don’t need to make it appear “always on top” or have it go behind the main editor window when you click on it. yay!

That is a screenshot. If the things in the window don’t make sense that’s fine because I’m not going to explain them right now.
Also that little text thing in the bottom left is for writing scratch notes. I thought that might be nice.

§ 5 Responses to The Rise and Fall of UI Design

  • CS says:

    I like the way this editor is coming along. I would expect no less of you, Noxxy boy. I would assume that the buttons directly left of the map scripts are basic ASM hacks? I don’t quite know how to distinguish ASM, but from the looks of it that seems to make the most sense.

    • Noxid says:

      Actually those are TSC replacements where left gets replaced with right (these ones in particular being leftover from my Take8 mod when I wanted a way to represent <CMP that was both easier to read and shorter to write). It needs a bit of work yet.

  • Dakota (betajoe7) says:

    I can’t wait until this is done! it’ll make My mod much easier to complete.

    Muffin? Excellent.

  • I am eaderly awaiting removeing Cave Editor from the equation. It get’s annoying to use. Also that’s a nice pic in the corner.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Rise and Fall of UI Design at King's Story.

meta

