A little planning goes a long way

January 31, 2012 § 6 Comments

Maybe. I mean, that’s what they tell me!
I wouldn’t know, I’m really terrible at planning out projects that are larger than one weekend’s worth of work. I got a ton of good features implemented in the Level Editor last weekend but, late sunday night, I came to the realization that a design decision I’d made early on was very wrong and I would have to fix it before I can continue. Basically, the entity editor panel and the tileset editor panel didn’t have their data in synch, so changes to one didn’t affect the other. Oops!

I have an idea of what could fix it, but it feels like such a cheap solution (much like all my solutions) that I am loathe to implement it. Because, bad solutions only lead to more problems that need bad solutions. I am a terrible programmer.  But at least I’m not the worst.

Anyway, after I fix that bit I’ll look at making the editor save data so maybe people could poke around with level editing CS+ or something. Who knows, someone might even be interested in that.

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to A little planning goes a long way

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A little planning goes a long way at King's Story.

meta

