Get Wepon

November 22, 2011 § 7 Comments

This week I began to (finally) start working on the weapons and bullets system. At first I had a problem that I sort of experienced in the original CS, being “How do I keep the gun and the hand lined up?” and then it hit me: I could just draw the hand *onto* the gun! It works really well and allows me to do gun bobbing while walking with minimal effort.

Additionally, a small detail that was kind of disregarded in Cave Story, King will always hold his weapon in his right hand. If he’s facing left, it’ll be drawn behind him; facing right, it’s drawn in front. I’m not sure what to do about the “inspecting” pose but maybe I might just skip drawing the weapon when he’s facing the background. Here are some shots of holding the gun from different angles

I haven’t got bullets started yet, but I did implement taking damage. It’s possible to die but not much happens because I haven’t got the fancy death animation done yet!

§ 7 Responses to Get Wepon

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Get Wepon at King's Story.

meta

