No more modding…

May 4, 2011 § 12 Comments

Oh my goodness! What a frightening statement. Well, I think it’s going to be true. For the last two weeks or so you see, I’ve been working on an engine that emulates CS enough that it could carry my mod. I didn’t want to tell anybody because I think this is a pretty significant thing to be doing, and I didn’t want to have to retract my statement. I am now confident however, that it should all work out if I put enough effort into it. Tomorrow of course I’ll have to revise my ToDo list to make the engine a top priority.

So, you may be asking yourself, why am I doing this? Well, there two big reasons:
1) For experience. There’s only so much you can learn about programming through Assembly, so this is sort of like the next step for me.
2) For ease of use. No matter how good at assembly I get, there will always be limitations as to what you can do, be it space or engine constraints or time itself. It takes hours and hours to do the simplest thing in assembly, when I could acheive the same result in C++ in perhaps one.

Technically though, this means that it’s no longer a hack or a mod at all. I think the proper term is “Fangame”. Regardless of what it is called, I hope that you will support me in this project and see it through to the end. I’ve put together my most recent build for you to download and try out if you feel so inclined; Please bear in mind that this is still very, very in-dev and I am working out new kinks every day. Feel free to give some feedback on the new sword hud design though. It’s supposed to be “Minimal”.

http://www.mediafire.com/?rshjjejgf8wq1t4

§ 12 Responses to No more modding…

  • Way cool :D This’ll be a great way to gain experience, and make modding fit like a glove for you.
    Everything looks in order, the water droplets, the scrolling, jumping.

    The sword… It’s a little hard to see, but maybe that’s because I’m used to full-screen. Also will have to see how it looks with weapon level ups. The sounds working great too~

    Are you planning to make the source available or making it scriptable so others can plug in their mods and program new behaviors?
    [btw what will you call this new engine? There’s already that one called NXEngine D:]

    Keep up it up! You have my support!

    • Noxid says:

      The sword is kind of small. I will probably play around with the design for it a bit… but you did remind me of something! I need to add an option to jConfig for fullscreen mode. I always forget about that because I prefer windowed myself.
      I hadn’t intended on making it open-source actually… I plan on actually taking the engine when I’m finished and using it as a basis for other, non-Cave Story games. The NXEngine you mentioned is open-source, so people could use that if they wanted, and Agora’s Legends that JTE is working on is supposed to be highly modular, but I want this one to be “My own”.
      Thanks :]

  • olliejay says:

    Really great work so far, even though it’s not much.
    The smoothness it has is really great.

    • Noxid says:

      When I compare this to 2x Cave Story (where the game can only move 2px at a time), the difference is quite astounding.
      Once I get the basic components of the engine under control (TSC, Menus, NPC scripts, Weapons) then I think it’ll fall together very quickly.

  • andwhyisit says:

    The engine looks to be coming along nicely, but I’m sorry to say that the jumping seems a bit off. I think the jump is peaking too quickly.

    • Noxid says:

      Really? I more or less copied the agility code to the letter, so it should be almost exactly the same. When I showed Lace, he also said it felt “Different”, but when measured it was found to be functionally identical. I suspected it might be an illusion due to the more accurate (and thus smoother) rendering.

      • andwhyisit says:

        No I remember counting the air time and unless I was mistaken the jumps in your engine were touching the ground 1 second earlier than in CS.

        Also on another note jumping again directly after landing tends to fail.

        • Noxid says:

          Well, I want it to be accurate if possible, so I went for a direct comparison and ran it side by side on two different computers as such: https://n0xid.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/sidexside.jpg
          I couldn’t notice a significant difference between the two after trying numerous times.

          The second point you make, however, is most likely due to an error in the order of the main game loop which I’ll take a look at and try to fix.

  • explosive says:

    Will this mean that you have to rewrite the hacks you made in C++? That seems like quite a lot of wasted effort -.-

    • Noxid says:

      With writing them in C++, I’ll be able to properly integrate them into the executable, so all my hacks like the title screen, multiple saves, 640×480 resolution, new entities and TSC commands, all that will is something I’ll just include as I go. I’m not exactly making a duplicate of the original CS engine, but a duplicate of my mod’s engine at this point.

      It does render all the hacks I’ve done useless to me, but there are other modders that I’ve shared them with that have benefited from them, so I don’t see it as a complete wash.

  • Master of mortis says:

    Then how do I hack your mods?!?!?!?!?!? NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading No more modding… at King's Story.

meta

