April Foolery

April 1, 2011 § 4 Comments

So, I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but I have been a little quiet lately.The truth is, I’ve been working on a pretty big project, but I didn’t want to let anybody know unless I was absolutely sure it was feasible, lest people get their hopes up unnecessarily. With the forthcoming release of a 3D Cave Story on the 3DS, I have decided to challenge myself to bring my own mod up to that level (Well, at least, the level of 3D. It’s a whole nother’ story to get something on a cartridge >_>)
With the past year’s advances in hacking technology (Doukutsu assembler, DLL Linking) I think that I just might be able to make this a reality. Unfortunately, it’s probably going to push development back a while (again :muscledoc:) as I need to convert all the characters and environments to 3D models. So far, I’ve only gotten one done as sort of a “Pilot model”, which you can see here:

I figured, if I managed to get 2x engine together in time for CS Wii, I can probably get a working engine for this in time for CS 3D. However, I certainly haven’t forgotten the whole fiasco with Nicalis last time, so this work is going to have to be 100% undisclosed, no distribution of my methods.
Anyway, I would like to ask you your opinions on this whole deal. I know it’s going to take some time, but if you are with me on it then I am committed to delivering the best experience possible for my mod.

… April fools ;]

§ 4 Responses to April Foolery

  • Hunter says:

    Dammit.

  • Master Of Mortis says:

    Waaaiiit, who’s making this “CS 3D”? Are they some evil corporation bent of stealing antique jukeboxes & limited edition versions of “Walk On” by Boston? I may know them….

  • Malpercio says:

    Ya know, I’m surprised i bothered to click the link and come read the article. It’s Apr 1, and you’re talking going 3D. That is the most obvious one I have ever seen.

  • DarkM3nd3z says:

    Mmmm…

    No matter, I want updates of this MOD, but now!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading April Foolery at King's Story.

meta

