Still scripting

January 11, 2011 § 15 Comments

And still hate it. I wanna hack, dangit. It’s what I’m good at. I’m also sort-of waiting on the levels and stuff from the people who offered to help me with them.

This week I did some pixel art. If you regularly visit the forums then you’ll have seen this but since it relates to the mod I figured I’d post it anyway.

This is taking King’s facepic from the original game and expanding it out into a full-size picture of him.

<Post a Comment>

§ 15 Responses to Still scripting

  • trickybilly says:

    The scar. Is this a later version of King? The story starts out as he being a child, I think those facepics didn`t have a scar. It`s pretty big, will it be noted in the story how he got it?

    • Noxid says:

      You find out how he got the scar near the end. Or maybe the middle. I’m not sure. Anyway, this was based on the facepic for King that was made by Pixel himself.

  • As far as I’m aware, the picture won’t be used in the mod and was just based off of king’s original facepic. If you really want a younger version of him though, well I made this edit real quick:

    younger king

  • Master of mortis says:

    I have told Gir of my profound idea & have decided to tell you (verbatim!!!). Have a CS version where you can alternate between classic 2D, 3D graphics (with alternation between 1st & 3rd person perspectives), & 2D graphics with the 3D models. Impossible? Maybe……. Not for the Master Of Mortis!!!! (Cue Phantom of the Opera theme song)

    • Noxid says:

      If you can do that then all the power to ya’, it’s certainly outside of my power to do so.

      • Master Of Mortis says:

        Why do you sound so disintrested!?!?!? How are you not amazed by this astonishing concept!?!?!?!?! Ggrrrrrr….. Do you know any software that can to what I’m talking about? Or where ground coffee & red bull may be purchased?!?!?!?!

  • Master Of Mortis says:

    Speaking of amazing concepts of which you are incapable of, what if I made a cave story ROM (not rum)!!!!!!! Given the large number of emulators out there, cave story would be portable to any system!!!!!! MWAHAHAHAHAHAAHAAH!!!!!!!!!!!! Forward Russia insignia ¡!

    • Noxid says:

      The difference between concepts and implementation is work. What you’re describing is nothing short of a full-scale rewrite and re-imagining of the entire game. It took an entire team of programmers, artists and developers like, at least a year to do this for Final Fantasy IV, and that was their job. I’m one guy who mods an indie game in his spare time while working on a degree.

      Anyway, one thing you fail to take into account is that Cave Story is effectively the intellectual property of Nicalis and any project of this magnitude would be shut down before it even got out of the gate.

      Feel free to dream with your head in the clouds, but don’t go so far up that you can’t see where your feet are anymore.

      • Master Of Mortis says:

        FUN SUCKER!!!!!!!!! If your’e gonna pull the “intlectual property thieft” card (most likely derived from “The social network”), it would actually be Daisuke’s, who seems to have to compunction when people mod his games (hack hack cough cough everyone in the gaming community). Plus, this entire blog is you modding Cave Story!! Please, never patronize me. Nor underestamate me!!!

  • Hunter says:

    I tried the demo of this and found two things frustrating. in the killer robot scene you have to get to hermits cave. the frustrating thing is that flying robots are all clustered up. And at the crystal cave, is it even possible to get that golden flower and live?

    • Noxid says:

      The former has been made easier, and the latter has been removed altogether and replaced with something different. It was possible, I could make the jump about 75% of the time, but I guess I’m the only one that didn’t have a problem with it :/

  • Hunter says:

    Thats good to hear. that golden flower is a pain in the butt.

  • Master Of Mortis says:

    I’m used to strong combacks, but the link was a 5 second youtube clip of a construction worker running up saying “nope”, then running off. Perhaps
    the intended lesson was redundancy. No, there has to be something more! Did you get the wrong link? To be honest, I’m a tad bit confused. That is not an anamation engine, nor can I buy ground coffee or red bull!!!! (By the way, I’ve seen Nicalis, there’s nothing going on upstairs.)

    • Noxid says:

      Do I know software with which you can make this… thing?
      nope.avi
      Do I know where to buy coffee or energy drinks?
      nope.avi
      Do I think it’s even possible?
      nope.avi

      I will have no more discussion on the subject. Further inquiry will go unanswered.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Still scripting at King's Story.

meta

