Exam week

December 6, 2010 § 4 Comments

It’s time for exams! Such fun. Most of last week I was stressing about today’s exam and giving myself ulcers, but now that it’s over with I feel alright, and I’ve not got another for eight days or so. I didn’t get too much done, but I did a bit in the afternoon, working to make the textbox a bit nicer because the old one was fugly.

Sorry, too wide.

After trying a few things out, I eventually settled on this simple, straightforward design seen here. The, I modified DoConfig so that you can choose different fonts other than Courier New (SimSun pictured). Finally, the last thing I half-worked on today was a bit of map scripting (just a few examinable objects) and worked on the Large Lift NPC, which will lift you with hasty. I wouldn’t do new NPCs but you see this one is critical to the level design, else you won’t be able to get anywhere!

The DoConfig thing was sort of a frivolous hack, but deal with it.

<Post a Comment>

§ 4 Responses to Exam week

  • I shall deal with it. Man I like your art. I’d rather have your skills in assembly, but I plan to LEARN it during my two week Christmas break. Text boxes are only hard because they need to look good and original, so kudos for getting a good one done.

    • Noxid says:

      Thank you. All it takes is practice really, I wasn’t very good at Assembly or pixel art when I started but that was, eh, more than a year ago >_>;
      Sometimes looking at my old ‘art’ makes me laugh.
      but mostly it makes me sad.

  • Santa says:

    Looking at the picture given gave a sudden twinge in the back of my head. I’m looking forward to this game’s release more than ever before… it is legit.

    Please take your time with this Noxid. Five years if you must; that’s how long Pixel worked on his masterpiece, and I have confidence that with the right source of zeal King’s Story can become just as engaging and inspirational.

  • trickybilly says:

    Best of luck on the exams! :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Exam week at King's Story.

meta

