The Many Faces of King

September 28, 2010 § 12 Comments

This is going to be a pretty content-laden post, at least by my standards. Maybe I could stretch it out and post a bit a week for the next while, but that’s no fun! Alright, so first thing I’m gonna put up is some of the facepics that I upgraded over the weekend. I had some fun doing these, and I like how they turned out. I hope you all like them too!

Number two, I finished writing my version of Animated Tiles. These are good for adding a bit of variety or making the map graphics a bit more interesting. For example, animated water!

There’s a slight downside to these, however. Each tile has 3-4 frames, and that means the graphics take up 3-4 tiles in the sheet. This is a bit of a problem since there’s only 256 tiles you can put on a tileset! I’ll either have to figure out a workaround or budget my animations or something. 256 is still a decent number of tiles, after all…

Thirdly, I would like to give Carrotlord some mad props for his Doukutsu Assembler. With it, I can write hacks with words for variables instead of addresses. Also, I don’t have to worry about calculating space or jumps. I think it’ll be most useful for writing custom NPCs and Weapons, since with those I typically would wipe the whole function and start fresh. I’m almost certain it’d at least cut the time to develop and debug a complex, multi-state entity in half.

Finally, I’m happy to announce that I actually had people respond to my little plea last week. Adark is now my newest part-time assistant. To be honest I’m not quite sure how this’ll turn out, but hopefully it’ll be cool and I’ll be able to get you a third (fourth?) demo out before we all shrivel up and die or something.

One last thing – What do you think of my new blog theme?
Wordpress is fun.

<Post a Comment>

Tagged: , , ,

§ 12 Responses to The Many Faces of King

  • adarkman says:

    Love the new faces. The eyes no longer stand out to me as, “WTF ARE THOSE BLUE THINGS ON KING’S FACE?!”.
    Only gripe is that the second and fourth faces stand out as looking feminine to me.

    Amimated water is sweet. :]

    Finally, TY for choosing me as your assistant. If I ever sound condesending, please tell me so that I can punch myself in the face. :P

  • I still say the water looks like it’s “dancing”.

  • trickybilly says:

    Facepics are cool. Animated water is a huge improvement. Both have a nice “smooth” look (like all the other double-res tiles in the mod). Your blog has now a new more “smooth” look too which matches. Maybe a little hardship for noobs (like me lol) is that the “post a comment” is gone from the bottom of the posts, some new visitor might think commenting is not available. Ah, you`ve mentioned a demo?…cool :)

    P.S. Congratz Adark!

    • Noxid says:

      Ah, I hadn’t thought of that. Well, it has a little link that says “leave a comment” or “# comments” under the title, and you can click the title of the post to go to commenting. Still, maybe I can do something extra..

  • carrotlord says:

    Oh yes, the facepics look much better than in the 1x res. I always thought King’s 1x eyes were a bit lopsided, but now the slight tilt is pulled off better.
    Plus, thanks for the compliments on the assembler–I appreciate that.

  • I like the potential of animated tiles and the new face pics. I tried out that assembler, but couldn’t get it to open, “long story, all related to my computer problems” and I like the potential, as well as the fact that you made it work while it was barle out there.

  • ThunderSock says:

    The old-school way of animating water is color cycling or whatever it’s called. you set it up so the colors just change and the tiles don’t move.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Color_cycling

  • I just realized, you could make it so an entire level is just dancing with that kind of animation. Or even make little effects like a decorative flag blowing in the wind. If you’ve ever play rayman, then you could probably imagine alvel of dancing objects.

  • explosive says:

    hey, this looks awesome!
    I would have loved to help you out with map making and such, but tbh I just suck as tsc, so to bad, I guess.

    Anyway, the water does look like it’s dancing. That’s probably because most water animations go in a direction (like left or right) instead of up and down…

    but whatever suits you, I guess!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Many Faces of King at King's Story.

meta

