Crystal Redesign Pt.1

July 6, 2010 § 7 Comments

So I guess the first thing I’ll have to do is come up with a new graphic style for the area. I’ve though about it and, I figure that it would look better if instead of just a ludicrous wall of crystals I used a more natural look of a mineral vein. Here’s my first concept:

And then where the crystal parts meet the edge is where a crystal would protrude. It’ll be an easier design to work with overall probably. It’s more of a concept than anything at the moment so, any opinions/ideas?

(I don’t know where my checklist is right now)

<I’m bored of adding these links. If you want to comment on something, just click the title of the post.>

§ 7 Responses to Crystal Redesign Pt.1

  • trickybilly says:

    It is a smooth look, the greens and the red make a calming impression. It has a nice 3d effect due to red and green stains over the base pattern (the dark rocks). According to my mind the base pattern is too similar, practically identical with the background from the original Cave Story (I think it`s bkBlue, but I`m too lazy to look up the background`s exact name I`m thinking of, you know what you have used anyways) and that`s why needs a little work. You have created such amazing new contents from your own, so it would be nice that the borrowings would be less evident.

    • Noxid says:

      Yeah, I actually just sketched it out off-hand based on the style of bkBlue but when I finished and put them together I saw how really similar they were. I’ll work on it.

  • Cultr1 says:

    it looks really cool, but I think instead of dark red, the background should be a more rock-ish color, like gray or something?

  • FYI red and green never work together normally. An artsy friend of mine told me this, I told you this last time too when you tried to add red crystals to the old set.

    Blue would probably work.

  • Xander says:

    I think it should have a more jagged look to it. Crystals don’t curve.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crystal Redesign Pt.1 at King's Story.

meta

