Musical Miracles

June 8, 2010 § 9 Comments

Well having only just got my laptop back on friday I again don’t have too much to show but I’ve got two main things that I worked on:
1) Laid the groundwork Assembly code for a boss fight in the Research hub, featuring three attack modes that become more dangerous as the boss loses health

2) Completed an awesome hack by which I fixed the Cave Story Org playing engine so that it will be OrgMaker V2 compatible – meaning you can use any drums, in any track! This is pretty exciting if I do say so myself. You can check it out via this link

ALSO: I’ve gotten some new graphics for Mimiga village and I hope you’ll love them as much as I do.

EDIT: I think I should have mentioned the environment tiles were done by Riftcast, sprites and BG by myself.

§ 9 Responses to Musical Miracles

  • Mike1108 says:

    For now it looks OMGAMAZINGLYBEAUTIFUL!!! Waiting for next demo!

  • trickybilly says:

    Screenshot=beautiful. Nice work man. Also I have read the tread you have linked to and there is some stuff about drums, etc. but a sentence caught my attention which Dragonboots highlighted: “You can now have WAV’s in Cave Story”. Is this autmatically means we (well if not we… than you…lol) can set ANY music in WAV file format as background music for a CS mod? It would be fun&easy setting my favoute songs as backgrounds without bothering to make music or copy them by ear.

    • Noxid says:

      That’s basically right about the WAVs. Dragonboots would know more about it than I do but yeah. I think there are some minor technical things with it though… but if you’re willing to have the huge filesize then you could have some WAV music.

  • Xander says:

    oh MAN! that looks awesome! Noxid, you have to let me help you by testing it.

    • Noxid says:

      Perhaps when the time comes – it never hurts to have more testers.
      Not much to test right now though :/

      • Immortalshippo says:

        I WANNA TEST, I WANNA TEST, I WANNA TEST! Actually, I just want to, erm, play in the PRETTY PRETTY SHINY SHINY 4X TILES! (I don’t care if there aren’t many. JUST SO AWESOME!) and besides, it would give me a reason to stop going to Achievement servers in TF2.

  • explosive says:

    I love the new tile sets. While Pixel’s original tileset was masterful in that it created a really realistic image, and 8-bit charm, by harnessing the limitations (wut) that he put in place, these new ones have a cute charm to them, and look incredibly smooth and polished.

    And at the OrgMaker v.2 compatibility hack…
    I don’t know what to say… it’s just… I didn’t think you could get any MORE awsome after all of this…

    *pokes you with a sharp stick* go talk to pixel about releasing your game

  • Riftcast says:

    Wow! I’m really glad everyone likes the new village tileset! :D I tried to eliminate as much cutoff as possible while making it… right now I think it’s mostly unnoticeable. It’s inspiring to hear how much support this is getting! You guys are in for a treat with the next few places, that’s all I’m going to say. ;P

    And before I even had a chance to fix the .ORG I sent over, you find a way to update the entire music engine xD That’s just so cool! Is there anything you can’t do, Noxid?

    I wonder if we can still make .ORGs but replace parts of the instrument set (or make custom instrument banks) for other songs. It would be so cool to import SNES game instruments, compose songs from the games as .ORGs, then have them play in Cave Story sounding exactly like they do on the SNES. Either that or at least use the instrument sets to compose ripoff songs done for parody. Lots of new possibilities have been opened up by this new music hack…

  • igotsthepower9000 says:

    No, the only thing I think Noxid can’t do is make CS compatible with .midi files. THAT would burst music making wide open, but I don’t think it’s possible without some serious assembly coding…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Musical Miracles at King's Story.

meta

