Lite update

June 1, 2010 § 7 Comments

Got my computer taken away for a little while because I was naughty and laughed at my parents when I was supposed to be in trouble so just a little update this week since I’m relegated to a public computer. I think the main thing I did last week was an interesting little tweak, where I added a little “!” thing when you’re near an interactable object, a la paper mario [link to example]. It will be able to be turned on and off by a flag, so do you think this is a good idea and would help make the game easier and more fun or do you think it’s silly and excessive handholding?

And don’t worry too much about me not having a computer, remember last time this happened I invented 2x res out of sheer boredom >.>

Probably won’t be so extreme this time but I might write a boss if I can find a computer that will let me download the and print the compendium.

§ 7 Responses to Lite update

  • Xander says:

    well, I think that’s a good idea. just don’t have it stick out too much.

  • trickybilly says:

    I think it`s a good idea. Every little extra will be noted by the public who will play your mod so I think it`s a plus. And don`t be naughty lol :).

  • Riftcast says:

    Hmm… I think its going to be a little bit too much hand holding for the player. I love being surprised or having to find secret stuff on my own. When the game just tells me where all the cool things are, it all becomes a big walk/jump-athon for finding secrets. I mean, for the most part you can tell where interactive objects are (sparkly stuff, distinct or unique objects, ect). If the game were 3D, I’d say the exclamation point would be very helpful, but in this case it makes it way too easy to find all the coolest secrets in the game. I think it also subtracts from replay value.

    Hope you get your computer back soon man! I’m going to send you some updates via email sometime soon; will you be able to view/hear/tinker with ’em?

    • Noxid says:

      I agree with you on that, it’s the major reason I’m a bit apprehensive on this. But, I can turn it off, so what if the secret secrets didn’t have “!” marks appearing? Might that work?

      I’ll be able to receive and check emails but I may be a little slow in getting to them. I’ve only lost it until Friday anyway so it’s no big deal.

      • Riftcast says:

        Oh! Now that would be tricky… imagine the player that was banking on having that exclamation mark tell them everything only to find out that the best secrets/pranks/hidden doors don’t get highlighted! Combined with the option to manually turn the mark off in an options menu or something, now the “!” doesn’t spoil the game at all. Make the secret-est secrets unmarked by the “!” and you’ve got yourself a winner. :D

        Good to hear you’ll be back up and running by Friday. This next set of updates I’m sending is going to be awesome; graphics, concepts, and something completely different. :O I’m holding off on sending until I get at least one more set of Mimiga sprites done… I think you’ll like what I’ve got.

  • Print off the compendium?

    I don’t get why you always need/want your notes in physical form :S

    • Noxid says:

      lulz.
      I cut out the junk so it was only 14 pages, and the high school let me print it for free. The physical notes are good for times like now so I can work without actually having a computer… plus I like that they’re handy without having to open a new window on my computer.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lite update at King's Story.

meta

