Double Resolution is Here

April 20, 2010 § 11 Comments

This week’s blog update comes as a very special announcement. I am officially declaring that I am going to use the double-res hack on my mod. I’m very excited about it and the opportunities it provides me to put in tons of extra detail into the graphics. I have also decided that the code for this hack will be held, by me (and GIR) and will not be distributed freely. This is because the code is written so that it would require no effort to create a sort of “Wiiware on PC” type mod, and this is to be strongly discouraged as it would hurt Pixel’s feelings, or so I’m told. Obviously that wasn’t my intention but it was the easiest way to make it work for my mod.

Click for the dazzling full view

The thing itself has been basically finished for quite a while, but there was a bit of diplomacy I decided to put myself through first. I don’t really have much to say about that other than I never really got a response so I decided for myself what would be best. I really enjoy the extra detail, and although it will mean an overhaul of every graphic in I’ll use, I think it will be worth it. It’s also pretty exciting and all, which is great because it makes me more enthused to get work done on it.

Also, before anybody complains, the King sprite is a work in progress, I’m not entirely happy with how it looks at the moment. Also, by popular demand, the caution sign is easier to read. I hope.

Finally, I forgot to mention at first, but I would have never been able to do this without tons of help from GIRakaCHEEZER. He deserves some credit too.

§ 11 Responses to Double Resolution is Here

  • Mr. Fist says:

    So I won’t be able to play normal Cave Story with double resolution graphics? Just because someone can do something doesn’t mean that they will do so with no consequence or even do so at all. Skye said himself that he’ll ban anyone who tries to make a WiiWare on PC mod and keeping such an awesome mod to yourself is just not nice.

    • Noxid says:

      I understand where you’re coming from. I really wanted to be able to give this, as my gift to the community. But then everybody was like *Nooo!* and I was like *Eep!* And Nicalis was like *We need to discuss this* and I can only assume they discuss it to this very day. Unless I can get a clear okay, this is the best compromise I can come up with. You know, there’s nothing stopping anybody else from doing this themselves.

      • Mr. Fist says:

        “You know, there’s nothing stopping anybody else from doing this themselves.”
        Other than our lack of the knowledge required to do so. I don’t think anyone really said no to having hi-res graphics. What can be done with something doesn’t really matter, what matters is it’s intended usage. You can beat someone to death with a baseball bat, but that’s not what it is for.

        • Noxid says:

          You could ask for help..?
          Anyway, I need more time to think about it, consider the issue from both sides. There are a lot of different opinions all being thrown at me at once and it is a little overwhelming.

  • carrotlord says:

    Now that screenshot is just beautiful. This will certainly get a lot of attention. I also have a feeling that your mod will receive a far higher percentage of praise than criticism compared to CS Wii ;)

  • UltimaLinkStephen says:

    You know, if you are allowed to release this, it would literally REVOLUTIONIZE Cave Story modding.

    I’m not exaggerating here, no one will use the original Cave Story unless they wanted it to have a classic style.

    Let’s hope they let you release it, I know everyone would port their mods over to it in a heartbeat, even if it meant starting over.

  • trickybilly says:

    Hi-res sure is beautiful. I am confused and really don`t understand anything about all this copyright stuff. I`ve really no clue what`s happening around that. Whatever the problem is, my best wishes that you figure out a solution which is harmonious for all. The caution sign looks fine now, thanks.

  • Mike1108 says:

    Oh… My… God…
    Finally somebody do a resolution hack…
    That’s just beautiful!

  • brianbdm says:

    I’m really half glad that you’re not letting people use it, but I’m also upset (not at you) that it’s so close, yet I can’t use it.
    I’m glad that your considering that it might be wrong to release the double-resolution hack. Most people would just do whatever they want. I agree, chances are that somebody will use Nicalis’ sprites in it.
    For now, if someone wants to risk getting in trouble with Nicalis, they can make their own double resolution hack. That way it won’t be your fault.

  • Santa says:

    Whoa.

    This picture makes me regret not having access to windows. Don’t tell me there’s legal issues with porting it to an apple as well, because I know that’s not the case. Still… kinda gives me a sense of viewing a green, blissful garden through a combination set of bars, chains, and a sign that says “NO.”

    Regardless to my state of distance, I’ll follow behind with genuine words of support. And if anyone happens to find my key, I’ll be eternally grateful.

    • Noxid says:

      Not legal issues so much as technical issues.. I just don’t know how to do it. I’m sorry Santa, but perhaps something will come up in the future.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Double Resolution is Here at King's Story.

meta

