Project CS32

March 16, 2010 § 3 Comments

So, as you may or may not be aware, I’ve spent pretty much every day since my last blog update working on my new project which I’ve dubbed “Cave Story 32”. Basically, it entails wide scale modifications to the CS engine so that it can increase the resolution to 640×480. GIR is helping me with it, and between the two of us I’m sure we’ve put at least 40 hours into this thing already. It’s been slow at times, and we’ve had plenty of setbacks, but it looks like we’re almost in the home stretch; Just have to fix bugs faster than we make them. However, there’s always Murphy’s law to take into account.

Of course, as a consequence, I’ve got absolutely nothing done on the mod – directly. I plan to implement Project CS32 into my mod when I’m finished; GIR may be apprehensive but I am certainly not going to work this hard on it to not use it! Now if only somebody would get around to making the editors play nice with the big graphics…

§ 3 Responses to Project CS32

  • trickybilly says:

    CS32 is a new mod project? Honestly I don`t like the sound of “new projects”, because, when modders on Mirai begin to talk about “new projects” they sooner or later abandon their old mods to make a new one. I really like King`s Story, so hope you`ll be different. As long as you will really make CS32 an integral part of King`s Story, then it`s cool.

    • Noxid says:

      Well see, it started out as just another hack for King, but lately it’s gotten so big as to have taken on a life of its own. You’re actually the reason for it, trickybilly, because when you made that comment about a flashing red light I started looking into the rendering engine to see if I could introduce transparency. After a bit of playing, I instead ended up with double-res sprites instead.
      Have no fear, I certainly won’t put King to the side. Consider this to be like, the biggest most time consuming hack I’ve made yet.

      • la man says:

        Probably made yet period.
        The only main “new” hack I’ve put some time into was when me and GIR tried to change around the way tiles work, and that was a mere 2 hours. Good luck with this, it’s pretty awesome.

        Also, I’m not even sure I can hack anymore. Haven’t tried in a month and a bit, and hacking good is based on hacking lots.

        ergh.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project CS32 at King's Story.

meta

