Another NPC Finished

March 2, 2010 § 9 Comments

Number one, this week is my March Break so I get a whole week of nothing but lazy and homework [Profs were so nice as to give us extra to make sure we weren’t at a loss for things to do]. Just thought I’d say it again. Been working on the mod, got some graphical things done and also finished the code for my “Secret Entity” thing, which came to 3FF [1023] bytes of hex top to bottom. Maybe it could’ve been a bit tighter or more efficient, but it really doesn’t matter since I still had like 6F bytes to go. Oh, and it has eighteen frames. What could it be?

And, being the crazy guy I am, I want to do another! A lazer beam this time, like what you’d find in fictional security systems. This, combined with the other two should give me enough material to make a bit of stealth-type gameplay. However, should the player choose, I’ll also allow you to go in guns blazing. At least, that’s the plan.

§ 9 Responses to Another NPC Finished

  • Excessive frames much? I don’t think you needed all 18 :P.

    And make it so you can only see the lasers if you’re smoking your cigarette. Or, if you’re going to go merry gear style, smoking your candy cane.

  • Noxid says:

    Maybe I didn’t NEED 18 frames, but it fit, and if it’s not broke then why fix it I say. I guess this entity will just have extra fine animation if I ever get around to drawing it.

    As for smoke and lazers, it’s an interesting idea, and certainly possible..
    I’ll have to think on it. If anyone else thinks this is a good or bad idea, give a shout here.

  • UN Owen says:

    Just checking in on progress. I like the laser stealth idea, especially since you’re not forcing the stealth option on those who don’t want to play that way. The smoke idea might also be really fun, if you can get the programming for it to run smoothly. If you’re not averse to putting forth the effort, I really think you should experiment with it and see if you can make it work.

    Glad to see my criticism was taken so well. It usually isn’t.

  • la man says:

    you spelled laser wrong

  • trickybilly says:

    Try to make red rotation lights and alarm beeping if security cuts you. Is the red rotation light a too though demand? But that would be totally awesome…

    • Noxid says:

      Depends. Just a small animated graphic would be simple enough, but if you wanted transparent-light effect, well… that would take some time.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Another NPC Finished at King's Story.

meta

