Back to work

January 18, 2010 § 4 Comments

I know it’s a little earlier than usual but I don’t like this drought of posts. So, I’m back to classes, of course, which means sadly I have less time to work on my mod. I still work on it, just not at nearly the rate I know I’m capable of. Anyway, sometime I’m going to quietly switch all the links to a fixed version of the mod. No big changes other than fixing all the bugs that were mentioned, so you don’t need to be keeping an eye out for it or anything.

As for what I’ve got done for the next level so far, a bunch of brainstorming and one song, which you can download via the pursuant links (Pursuant? Is that used right?)

http://www.mediafire.com/?uitnconmnn2

http://www.mediafire.com/?zayd3ttmnnt

Imagine yourself in a sparsely lit hallway, only the gentle hum of distant mechanical systems to keep you company. It is clear that whoever was here left in a hurry… but why? The air is calm, yet unsettling.
There are two versions of the song. The second one is like, a touch up, you might say. More effects and stuff.

§ 4 Responses to Back to work

  • trickybilly says:

    I listened to them both. They, but escpecially Science1 remind me on Geothermal`s beginning.

    “Imagine yourself in a sparsely lit hallway, only the gentle hum of distant mechanical systems to keep you company. It is clear that whoever was here left in a hurry… but why? The air is calm, yet unsettling.”

    I like how you plan the atmosphere you want to create.

  • la man says:

    first, i think, coveys the atmosphoggle better. simpleness is good.
    other than that, not much to yell at you yet for.

  • UN Owen says:

    I played through the demo and found myself really disappointed that that’s all I got. I honestly was.
    That said, the difficulty of this game is computer smashingly frustrating. The part about getting the azurite, where the timing of the jumps requires absolute perfection to avoid either falling and having to start all over again or instant death on the spikes drove me up the wall. Especially because the controls are very imprecise. It takes roughly a quarter of a second for the game to register a push of any given button, which frequently results in the player needing to push the jump button before he should normally have to if he wants to avoid walking right into spikes. It’s okay if a boss fight makes you play it a few times to get it down, but it’s really bad design to make the player have to go through the same pointless fetch-quest time and time again because he can’t get the exact timing of the button-mash down.
    Just thought you ought to know.
    That said, keep it up. I liked the darker tone and want to see more.

    • N0xid says:

      Whoa, a commenter from outside the loop! (I think?)
      The mod was designed by a cave story addict, and tested by cave story addicts, so I recognize that the difficulty level is probably higher than it should be. However, with each iteration of the mod, I have a habit of going back to make the older parts just a little bit easier/more forgiving, and I’ve already got a few things planned for this segment’s reworking. The “fetch quest” aspect in particular is something I want to try and mitigate…
      Thank you for your feedback!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back to work at King's Story.

meta

